Why I am an Atheist….

I am an atheist because there is no evidence of a supernatural being who is called God. There is evidence of Evolution, which many organised religious people do not “believe”.

I am an atheist because there is no evidence of a place called Heaven nor a place called hell. When I die, that will be the end not the end of the beginning.

I am an atheist because I see religious peoples not acting as they claim they are acting. I see violence perpetrated in the name of religion, whilst claiming they are not being violent. I see priests abusing children when they claim they are”protecting” them. I see people of the Islam religion rioting over a cartoon whilst holding signs claiming Islam is a religion of peace.

I am an atheist because I think there should be a clear separation of Church and State, whilst seeing that this is being eroded in many countries every day.

I am an atheist becasuse the “holy” books make no sense to me. I don’t take them as the literal truth because there is no historical evidence that many (if not all) of the events never took place.

I am an atheist because I believe indoctrination of children is child abuse. There is no way children can comprehend what they are being told by their authority figures. Many are scared into “belief” by stories of hell, Satan and roasting for eternity for doing ” bad”things.

I am an atheist because I think .

I am an atheist because I question.

I am an atheist because I have an open mind and am open to change my mind if evidence becomes available. Unlike religious peoples whom most will never change their minds and actively seek to ignore, confuse, deny scientific evidence that contradicts and destroys their claims.

8 Responses

  1. Glad to see you on the blogging community! Can’t wait to read more!

  2. I am an atheist because there is no evidence of a supernatural being who is called God.

    That about sums it up as far as my atheism is concerned. Christianity could be a peace-loving, liberal-democratic religion that cherishes the separation of church and state and nurtures scientific inquiry (obviously, it isn’t any of these things)–and I would still see no grounds for accepting its claims without evidence.

  3. I liked this one a lot.

  4. Thank you 🙂

  5. Great start – looking forward to future postings.
    By the way – is there a Kiwi link? I am trying to locate any NZ atheist blogs.

  6. Thank you Ken. For a country that is so secular, finding Atheist links is actually difficult. I did come across this:

    http://stason.org/TULARC/religion/atheism-organizations/73-New-Zealand-Atheist-Organizations.html

    Will do some more research on atheist organisations in New Zaaland and ad more links when i find them.

  7. I am an atheist because I’ve actually read about cosmology, biology, chemistry, physics, neurology, evolution, geology etc and found that an unproven supernatural being isn’t needed to explain any of these. In fact it complicates it further for no reason. As much as I know about these sciences, others know the opposite – next to nothing but if they did I’m sure they would abandon their beliefs.

  8. Well now, you are an evolutionist because you think? Well then i assume that makes me an atheist as well,you are an atheist because you are open minded? Sounds an awful lot like me, You are an atheist because you question? hmm im sounding more and more like an atheist. You are an atheist because you believe that scaring children into salvation is wrong? Man i must be atheist.
    you are an atheist because I see religious peoples not acting as they claim they are acting. I see violence perpetrated in the name of religion, whilst claiming they are not being violent. I see priests abusing children when they claim they are”protecting” them. I see people of the Islam religion rioting over a cartoon whilst holding signs claiming Islam is a religion of peace?

    you are an atheist because I think there should be a clear separation of Church and State, whilst seeing that this is being eroded in many countries every day?

    Man Im thinking I might be an atheist but wait, thats right theres that whole pesky believing In something that makes my life worth living because I know that when I die I will be more than just worm food.

    However unlike most atheist and theists that i have met i also belive in a little thing called TOLERANCE.

    That means that despite the fact that I may think you are wrong I WILL NOT! Just sit ehre and scream at you that you are going to hell, I will do my best to listen to arguments given to me for the cause of evolution, and I will do my best to give arguments in rebbutal and if needed say that I dont know the answer to some questions, cause lets face it, none of us do.David

Leave a Reply

